TOROLAB (MEXICO)

Torolab : socially-concerned 'lab'

Torolab is a Tijuana-based consortium of artists, designers and musicians. It was founded in 1995 by architect and artist Raúl Cárdenas Osuna as a socially engaged 'laboratory' and is committed to residents of Tijuana and the entire trans-border region.

Among their projects is ToroVestimenta, a clothing line that equips for the hostile border environment. The multipocketed Transborder Pants, for example, provide not only a perfect fit for a Mexican passport, but also draw attention to this social reality

   Artistic Approach

Torolab, Survival unit 7.01, 2002
Fabric

With a solo exhibition at the Museum of Contemporary Art in San Diego in June 2001, Torolab acclaimed further international interest and recognition.

Presently, the collective is preparing for the Vertex Project, an artistic re-creation of a border-crossing, to be located literally half in Mexico, half in the United States.

   Project for the Biennale

Torolab, Survival unit 7.01, 2002
Video, fabric

Torolab's proposal is about the passion for life in relation with survival, and the love for life you need to have, in order to continue living in a basic level that has to do with the relation men/ environment.

It is about the emotion of living, under the most adverse circumstances.

Our Context
Understanding that Tijuana is a region of urban interaction, of complex necessities where the solutions are never enough for ideal development.. Also understanding that violence is a factor in our everyday life, Torolab studies this context looking for solutions to these special conditions.

The Survival Unit is part of the "SOS Emergency Architecture" studies that we have been developing as an experiment of survival and urban camouflage.

Urban Survival Unit 7.01.
This unit arises from impoverished conditions that Tijuana faces, which occurs on a scale very different from the neighbour city of San Diego, because here, we have people living in extremely precarious conditions.

In San Diego, for those who lack a house, the "homeless", the city becomes their house, the city protects them. On the other hand, in Tijuana, this situation is nearly impossible due to the social and unsafe conditions.

Unit 7.01, is an individual unit to survive in a place where the surroundings are perceived from 1.20 meters of visual height from the floor, with a rank of vision from 0 to 70 degrees, at a speed of 60 km/h in which the image of the city is not recognized by the amorphous visual sequence of billboards and traffic signs.

It is there in that cloud of communication in movement, where true form of the city resides. That is why if we added another billboard would be like throwing a leaf in the forest. It becomes camouflage. 7.01 is a backpack, is a billboard, is a house and simultaneously is not none of the three. It is a unit of mobile survival, an instrument of camouflage.

This is part of a developing series, of a long-term project that tries to improve the quality of life of the people who use it.

The region of the Transborder Trousers.
Tijuana is a city formed trough movement and axis of urban connectivity. It is a region of urban interaction delimited by ranges of vehicular mobility, having clear routes of connection with entities on both sides of the border.

The transborder trousers catch this phenomena of regional movements conditioned by migratory documents.

This product, being used by a Mexican has secret pockets of security for passport and laser visa (document implemented by USA to grant access to Mexicans, with a rigorous data base of the user).

And if an American uses it, the pockets are a hidden device to have safe credit cards (not of debit like the majority of the Tijuanenses use), for medicines, picture rolls and equipment of exploration. The trousers function changes depending on the nationality of the user. All form the same region of urban interaction.

ARTISTS


VISUAL ARTS

  David Blatherwick

  Cai Guo-Qiang

  Casagrande
     & Rintala


  Colette

  Marcel Dzama

  Graham Gillmore

  Betty Goodwin

  Angela Grauerholz

  Daniel Guzman

  Mathew Hale

  Anton Henning

  Cisco Jiménez

  Koganezawa
     Takehito


  Lux Lindner

  Corinne Marchetti

  Jorge Luis Marrero

  François Morelli

  Claudia & Julia Müller

  Alain Paiement

  Bruno Peinado

  Ed Pien

  Jean-François Prost

  John Scott

  Kiki Smith

  Siphay Southidara

  Barthélémy Toguo

  Torolab (Raúl &
     Marcela Cárdenas)


  Pablo Vargas-Lugo

  Vedovamazzei
  (S. Scala & S. Crispino)


  Jean-Luc Verna

  Fabien Verschaere



LIGHT
INSTALLATION

  Michel Iorio



PERFORMANCE

  Cees Krijnen



 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca

TOROLAB (MEXIQUE)

Torolab : 'labo' socialement engagé

Torolab est un consortium d'artistes, de designers et de musiciens basé à Tijuana. Il a été fondé en 1995 par l'architecte et artiste Raúl Cárdenas Osuna en tant que 'laboratoire' socialement engagé envers les résidents de Tijuana et toute la région trans-frontière.

Parmi leurs projets, on retrouve ToroVestimenta, une ligne de vêtement qui permet au gens de s'équiper pour l'environnement hostile de la frontière. Les pantalons Transborder Pants à plusieurs poches, par exemple, offrent non seulement un compartiment parfait pour le passeport mexicain, mais aussi, attirent l'attention de cette réalité sociale.

   Démarche artistique

Torolab, Survival unit 7.01, 2002
Tissu

C'est avec leur exposition individuelle au Musée d'Art Contemporain de San Diego en juin 2001 que Torolab a acquis un intérêt et une reconnaissance internationale encore plus grande.

Ils travaillent présentement sur le Vertex Project, une re-création artistique d'un poste frontalier sis à cheval sur la frontière du Mexique et des États-Unis.

   Projet pour la Biennale

Torolab, Survival unit 7.01, 2002
Vidéo, tissu

Le projet de Torolab s'articule autour de la relation entre vie et la survie, et l'amour pour la vie que nous nécessitons pour continuer à vivre, il s'agit de la relation entre l'homme et son environnement.

Le projet nous présente l'émotion de vivre dans les conditions les plus difficiles.

Notre contexte
Prenant en notes que Tijuana est une région urbaine d'interactions, de nécessités complexes où les solutions ne répondent pas totalement au développement idéal. Prenant en notes, également, que la violence est un facteur constant de notre quotidien, Torolab étudie ce contexte en cherchant des solutions à ces conditions spéciales.

L'unité de survie fait partie de SOS Emergency Architecture, études que nous avons développées comme expériences de survie et de camouflage urbain.

L'Unité de survie 7.01.
Cette unité prend son origine des conditions d'appauvrissement auxquelles Tijuana doit faire face, qui surviennent à une échelle très différente que celles de sa ville voisine, San Diego, parce que ici, à Tijuana, nous avons des personnes vivant dans des conditions extrêmement précaires.

À San Diego, pour ceux qui n'ont pas de maison, les 'homeless', la ville devient leur maison, la ville les protège. Alors que, à Tijuana, cette situation est quasi impossible, face aux conditions sociales instables et parfois dangereuses.

L'unité de survie 7.01. est une unité individuelle pour survivre dans un espace où l'environnement est perçue à 1.20 mètre du sol, avec un champs de vision de 0 à 70 degrés, à une vitesse de 60 km/h à laquelle la ville comme image n'est pas reconnue par la séquence visuelle des panneaux publicitaires et des panneaux de circulation.

C'est dans ce nuage de communication en mouvement que la forme réelle de la ville existe. Voilà pourquoi ajouter un autre panneau publicitaire serait comme de jeter une feuille à la forêt. Cela devient camouflage. 7.01. est un sac à dos, un panneau publicitaire, une maison, et simultanément aucune de ces trois propositions. C'est une unité mobile de survie, un instrument de camouflage.

Ce projet fait partie d'une série en chantier, d'un projet à long terme qui essaie d'améliorer la qualité de la vie de gens qui l'utilisent.

La région des pantalons transfrontaliers
Tijuana est une ville formée du mouvement et des axes de communication urbaine. C'est une région d'interaction urbaine délimitée par un éventail de mobilité véhiculaire ayant des routes précises de connections avec des entités sur les deux côtés de la frontière.

Les pantalons transfrontaliers représentent en quelque sorte ce phénomène de mouvement régional conditionné par les documents migratoires.

Ce produit, utilisé par les Mexicains comporte des poches secrètes de sécurité pour le passeport et le visa laser (document introduit par les États-Unis pour faciliter le contrôle d'accès des Mexicains par une vigoureuses base de données sur l'utilisateur.)

Si utilisés par les Américains, les poches sont un moyen efficace de cacher les cartes de crédits (pas celles de débit utilisées par les Tijuanais), les médicaments, les rouleaux de film et l'équipement d'exploration. La fonction des pantalons change dépendamment de la nationalité de l'utilisateur. Tous appartiennent à la même région urbaine d'interaction.

LISTE DES ARTISTES


ARTS VISUELS

  David Blatherwick

  Cai Guo-Qiang

  Casagrande
     & Rintala


  Colette

  Marcel Dzama

  Graham Gillmore

  Betty Goodwin

  Angela Grauerholz

  Daniel Guzman

  Mathew Hale

  Anton Henning

  Cisco Jiménez

  Koganezawa
     Takehito


  Lux Lindner

  Corinne Marchetti

  Jorge Luis Marrero

  François Morelli

  Claudia & Julia Müller

  Alain Paiement

  Bruno Peinado

  Ed Pien

  Jean-François Prost

  John Scott

  Kiki Smith

  Siphay Southidara

  Barthélémy Toguo

  Torolab (Raúl &
     Marcela Cárdenas)


  Pablo Vargas-Lugo

  Vedovamazzei
  (S. Scala & S. Crispino)


  Jean-Luc Verna

  Fabien Verschaere



INTERVENTION
LUMINEUSE

  Michel Iorio



PERFORMANCE

  Cees Krijnen



 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca