JORGE LUIS MARRERO (CUBA)


Jorge Luis Marrero, After Portocarrero, 1999
Acrylic, charcoal and pastel on canvas
55 X 74 cm

Jorge Luis Marrero was born in 1970 in Havana, Cuba.

He studied at the Institutio Superior de Arte (ISA), Havana. He has had solo shows in Havana, at Centro de Desarrollo de las Artes Visuales, 1999, and at Galeria Habana, 2000/2002.

He has participated in several group exhibitions including "Ventana hacia Venus", VII Bienal de La Habana, 2000; 'Havana Nagila/ Cuba-Israel: Dialogue', Centre for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv, Israel 2000; 'Cinco continentes y una ciudad', Museo de la Ciudad de México, Mexico City, 2000; 'New Cuban Art in Hamburg', International Art Fair, Hamburg, 2001. Shown by Galeria Jacob Karpio at Art Chicago and Art Miami, 2001.

Jorge Luis Marrero is represented by the Galeria Jacob Karpio in Art Chicago and Art Miami, 2001.

   Artistic Approach


Jorge Luis Marrero, Como es arriba es abajo, como es abajo es arriba, 1999
Installation: heavy-gauge wire and pencil on paper


Jorge Luis Marrero, Como es arriba es abajo, como es abajo es arriba, 1999
Installation: heavy-gauge wire and pencil on paper

"Jorge Luis Marrero's work has based itself on the appropriation of images. The young artist began by doing drawings (and also some paintings initially) based on the work of Roy Lichtenstein. In reality, what he carried out was an inversion of the working process of the aforesaid pop -art classic. The latter appropriated fragments of comic strips to produce his paintings and drawings. Marrero, to the contrary, appropriated these works in order to make drawings in comic form.

[...] After all those feats of Zen exercise with Lichtenstein, the artist went on to reproduce his childhood drawings, kept until then by his mother, with merciless exactness. He draws them anew on canvas or Bristol board, on a bigger scale, and exhibits the original drawings together with the copies. Thus does Marrero appropriate himself. But... is the artist the same person as the child? As well as stressing identity as a dynamic, changing notion, the artist must engage in very careful, concentrated work, in order to produce again those drawings which had sprung spontaneously from his infant soul, and this lends emphasis to the distance between the two. Though it is here a matter of reproducing exactly, and despite the fact that it is the same person who copies and his copied, all of this work is about distance, change and difference: distance change and difference between the original and the copy, between the child and the artist, between an ingenuous expressive game and a conceptual proposition, between children's drawing and gallery art.

[...] (In) some of the most recent works, Marrero uses heavy-gauge wire to copy his own childhood drawings. This step increases the distance between original and copy, dramatically increasing the scale, radically differentiating the material and the technique, and underlining the difference in aura between the childhood drawing and the gallery piece. Moreover, the reproduction remains ambiguously midway between drawing and sculpture, whit two dimensionality being retained in a work of a sculptural type. The character of the work emphasizes the transition from "low" to "high", which reverts Lichtenstein's working procedure. In Marrero's work, the copy is the main bearer of meaning, and it also the fetishized original in museum and gallery. The representative potential of drawing is here used "ab absurdum", in a feat of self-representation which I have previously referred, dramatizing the ambivalence inherent in the act of representing. Additionally, there occurs what we might call a suicide and resurrection of the author, who kills the myth of originality by copying himself, coming back to life in a work, which emanates from itself."

(Gerardo Mosquera, Extracted from the catalogue of the exhibition 'Cinco continentes y una ciudad' (Secciòn América), Mexico City, 2000)

   Jorge Luis Marrero on the Web
ARTISTS


VISUAL ARTS

  David Blatherwick

  Cai Guo-Qiang

  Casagrande
     & Rintala


  Colette

  Marcel Dzama

  Graham Gillmore

  Betty Goodwin

  Angela Grauerholz

  Daniel Guzman

  Mathew Hale

  Anton Henning

  Cisco Jiménez

  Koganezawa
     Takehito


  Lux Lindner

  Corinne Marchetti

  Jorge Luis Marrero

  François Morelli

  Claudia & Julia Müller

  Alain Paiement

  Bruno Peinado

  Ed Pien

  Jean-François Prost

  John Scott

  Kiki Smith

  Siphay Southidara

  Barthélémy Toguo

  Torolab (Raúl &
     Marcela Cárdenas)


  Pablo Vargas-Lugo

  Vedovamazzei
  (S. Scala & S. Crispino)


  Jean-Luc Verna

  Fabien Verschaere



LIGHT
INSTALLATION

  Michel Iorio



PERFORMANCE

  Cees Krijnen



 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca

JORGE LUIS MARRERO (CUBA)


Jorge Luis Marrero, After Portocarrero, 1999
Acrylique, fusain et pastel sur toile
55 X 74 cm
Photo: courtoisie Galería Nina Menocal, Mexico

Jorge Luis Marrero est né en 1970 à La Havane, Cuba.

Il a étudié à l'Institut Superieur de l'Art (ISA), La Havane. Il a présenté des expositions individuelles à La Havane, au Centro de Desarrollo de las Artes Visuales, en 1999, et à la Galeria Habana, en 2000/2002.

Ses expositions collectives incluent Ventana hacia Venus, VII Biennale de La Havane, 2000; Havana Nagila/ Cuba-Israel : Dialogue, Centre for Contemporary Art, Tel Aviv, Israël 2000; Cinco Continentes y Una Ciudad, Museo de la Ciudad de México, Mexico, 2000; New Cuban Art in Hamburg, International Art Fair, Hambourg, 2001.

Jorge Luis Marrero est représenté par la Galería Nina Menocal, Mexico.

   Démarche artistique


Jorge Luis Marrero, Como es arriba es abajo, como es abajo es arriba, 1999
Installation: fil de fer et crayon sur papier
Photo: courtoisie Galería Nina Menocal, Mexico


Jorge Luis Marrero, Como es arriba es abajo, como es abajo es arriba, 1999
Installation: fil de fer et crayon sur papier
Photo: courtoisie Galería Nina Menocal, Mexico

« Marrero a établi son travail sur l'appropriation d'images. Le jeune artiste a commencé par faire du dessin (et initialement quelques peintures) basé sur le travail de Roy Lichenstein. En réalité, il effectuait une inversion du processus de Lichenstein. Celui-ci s'appropriait des fragments de bandes dessinées pour produire ses dessins et peintures. Marrero, lui, au contraire, s'approprie des oeuvres de Lichenstein pour créer ses dessins en bandes dessinées.

[...] Suite à ses exercices zen avec Lichenstein, Marrero a décidé de reproduire ses dessins d'enfant, gardés jusque là soigneusement par sa mère. Il les redessine à plus grande échelle sur la toile ou du carton Bristol et expose les dessins originaux avec les copies. De cette façon, Marrero s'approprie lui-même. Mais l'artiste est-il la même personne que l'enfant? Soulignant la dynamique de l'identité, notion changeante, l'artiste doit travailler très consciencieusement pour reproduire ces dessins sortis spontanément de la tête d'un enfant, ce qui accentue la distance entre les deux. Même s'il s'agit de copier scrupuleusement et même si c'est la même personne qui copie et qui est copiée, ce travail est basé sur la distance, le changement et la différence; distance, changement et différence entre l'original et la copie, entre l'enfant et l'artiste, entre un jeu expressif spontané et une position conceptuelle, entre le dessin d'enfant et l'art de galerie.

[...](Dans) son travail le plus récent, Marrero utilise du fil de fer pour copier ses dessins d'enfants. Cette étape accroît la distance entre l'original et la copie, augmentant dramatiquement l'échelle, différenciant radicalement le matériel de la technique, et soulignant la différence d'aura entre le dessin d'enfant et l'oeuvre en galerie. De plus, la reproduction demeure ambiguë entre le dessin et la sculpture, la deuxième dimension étant conservée dans un travail de type sculptural. Le caractère du travail accentue la transition entre le 'low' et le 'high art', ce qui renverse la procédure de travail de Lichenstein. Dans le travail de Marrero, la copie est la principale porteuse de sens. Le potentiel représentatif du dessin est utilisé ici à l'absurde, par un acte d'auto représentation dramatisant l'ambivalence inhérente dans l'acte de représenter. De plus, il advient ce qu'on pourrait nommer un suicide et une résurrection de l'auteur, qui tue le mythe de l'originalité en se copiant lui-même, revenant à la vie dans un travail émanant de lui-même. »

(Gerardo Mosquera, Extrait du catalogue de l'exposition 'Cinco continentes y una ciudad' (Sección América), Mexico, 2000)

   Jorge Luis Marrero dans le Web
LISTE DES ARTISTES


ARTS VISUELS

  David Blatherwick

  Cai Guo-Qiang

  Casagrande
     & Rintala


  Colette

  Marcel Dzama

  Graham Gillmore

  Betty Goodwin

  Angela Grauerholz

  Daniel Guzman

  Mathew Hale

  Anton Henning

  Cisco Jiménez

  Koganezawa
     Takehito


  Lux Lindner

  Corinne Marchetti

  Jorge Luis Marrero

  François Morelli

  Claudia & Julia Müller

  Alain Paiement

  Bruno Peinado

  Ed Pien

  Jean-François Prost

  John Scott

  Kiki Smith

  Siphay Southidara

  Barthélémy Toguo

  Torolab (Raúl &
     Marcela Cárdenas)


  Pablo Vargas-Lugo

  Vedovamazzei
  (S. Scala & S. Crispino)


  Jean-Luc Verna

  Fabien Verschaere



INTERVENTION
LUMINEUSE

  Michel Iorio



PERFORMANCE

  Cees Krijnen



 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca