FRANÇOIS MORELLI (CANADA)


François Morelli, Déclaration des droits de l'homme, 1998
Ink, print on paper

Born in Montreal, François Morelli completed his Bachelors of Fine Arts at the University of Concordia in 1975.

In his first installations, he was intending to merge the different disciplinary distinctions and to establish the bases of a varied and multi-directional practice.

Between 1981 and 1991, he lived and taught in New York, where he accomplished several graphic and sculptural installations, as well as migratory actions that led him to travel across North America, Europe, and North Africa.

As he returned to Québec in 1991, he joined the Fine Arts Section of the department of Arts at the UQTR as a drawing professor

   Artistic Approach
His research still questions the status of the object within the creation process and the perception of the work.

Notions of passage, circulation and transformation are essential in his work; according to him, the object is often the echo of a passed action or an intervention translating the relation of the artist with society, individuals between themselves, or of an individual with the object.

   Project for the Biennale


François Morelli, The Riding Lesson, 1995
Ink, print on paper
"Over the years my drawing intersts have often incorporated commercial forms of mechanical reproduction (photocopy, ozaloid prints, stencils and rubber stamps"). I first used a rubber stamps in 1989 during an action / event commemorating the life and works of the American Fluxus artist Robert Watts. Having had a stamp made of Watt's signature, I recreated a conceptual codex recording stamped body parts symbolically donated by friends. In 1990 I began having stamps made from my drawings which I used in sculptures, and shortly after in the Hieratic Suite, I began using stencils based on western and non-western classical figures to construct a cast of characters. Inscrire le corps, Indexer le Lieu at La Chambre Blanche in Québec City (1993) marks the first of numerous architectural wall drawings.

The images for these rubber stamps have been taken from a variety of sources including anatomical illustrations, the social and natural sciences, art history, and my own surroundings (studio tools, Sketchbooks and photographs). This inventory of recycled images constitutes a personal vocabulary which functions like ready-mades. Creating patterns, juxtaposing and superimposing meanings, these drawing explore viewing conventions by challenging authoritative readings. Subordinating mark making to mechanical repetition, this process both questions and explores the limits of subjective intention and expressionism. Primarily interested in the construction of narrative through structure and context, the drawings further address arbitrary distinctions between high and low, illustration and drawing, decoration and purity. The works strives to be excessive and invasive reflecting a compulsive and obsessive nature. Formally mapping trajectories through different spatial constructions, I am interested in breaking down resolution and examining how signs shift and arbitrarily rely on contexts for definition. Central to these operations are the principals of transformation and metamorphoses.

Carrousel is an endless running frieze challenging the pre-eminent idea of a singular static viewpoint. It obliges the viewer to move and engage physically through peripheral vision and memory. It is obviously informed by numerous forms of pictographic art ranging art from Paleolithic caves to urban graffiti while being influenced by media theory and film history. The stories depicted in this frieze reflect the social reality that surrounds us. Stupefied we observe the mediated atrocities of our times, a running sub text to TV news that cannot but have direct bearing on the human psyche."

(François Morelli)

ARTISTS


VISUAL ARTS

  David Blatherwick

  Cai Guo-Qiang

  Casagrande
     & Rintala


  Colette

  Marcel Dzama

  Graham Gillmore

  Betty Goodwin

  Angela Grauerholz

  Daniel Guzman

  Mathew Hale

  Anton Henning

  Cisco Jiménez

  Koganezawa
     Takehito


  Lux Lindner

  Corinne Marchetti

  Jorge Luis Marrero

  François Morelli

  Claudia & Julia Müller

  Alain Paiement

  Bruno Peinado

  Ed Pien

  Jean-François Prost

  John Scott

  Kiki Smith

  Siphay Southidara

  Barthélémy Toguo

  Torolab (Raúl &
     Marcela Cárdenas)


  Pablo Vargas-Lugo

  Vedovamazzei
  (S. Scala & S. Crispino)


  Jean-Luc Verna

  Fabien Verschaere



LIGHT
INSTALLATION

  Michel Iorio



PERFORMANCE

  Cees Krijnen



 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca

FRANÇOIS MORELLI (CANADA)


François Morelli, Déclaration des droits de l'homme, 1998
Encre, impression sur papier

Francois Morelli est né à Montréal et a complété son baccalauréat en arts plastiques à l'Université Concordia en 1975.

Dès ses premières installations, il cherche à confondre les distinctions disciplinaires et à établir les fondements d'une pratique polyvalente et multi-directionelle.

De 1981 à 1991, il vit et enseigne à New York où il réalise de nombreux projets d'installation graphique et sculpturale ainsi que des actions migratoires qui l'amènent à parcourir l'Amérique du Nord, l'Europe et l'Afrique du Nord.

En 1991, à son retour au Québec, il s'associe à la Section des Arts Plastiques du Département des Arts de l'UQTR comme professeur de dessin.

   Démarche artistique
Sa recherche persiste à questionner le statut de l'objet à l'intérieur du processus de création et de perception de l'oeuvre.

Les notions de passage, de circulation et de transformation y occupent une place prépondérante; chez lui, l'objet se fait souvent l'écho d'une action passée ou d'une intervention visant à traduire les rapports de l'artiste avec la société, avec des individus entre eux, ou de l'individu avec l'objet.

   Projet pour la Biennale


François Morelli, The Riding Lesson, 1995
Encre, impression sur papier
« Au cours des ans, mes intérêts en dessin ont souvent incorporé des formes commerciales de reproduction mécanique (photocopie, imprimés ozaloid, les stencils, et tampons de caoutchouc). J'ai utilisé pour la première fois un tampon de caoutchouc en 1989 pendant une action/événement commémorant la vie et l'oeuvre de l'artiste américain Robert Watts, du mouvement Fluxus. Ayant un tampon fait à la signature de Watts, j'ai recréé un codex conceptuel anatomique encodant des parties corporelles estampées symboliquement et données par des amis. En 1990, j'ai commencé à faire faire des tampons à partir de mes dessins que j'utilisais dans mes sculptures et par après dans la Suite hiératique, j'ai commencé à utiliser des stencils basés sur des figures classiques occidentales ou non pour construire un groupe de caractères. Inscrire le corps, Indexer le Lieu à La chambre blanche dans la ville de Québec (1993) marque le premier de nombreux dessins muraux architecturaux.

Les images pour les tampons de caoutchouc on été prises dans une variété de source incluant les illustrations anatomiques, les sciences sociales et naturelles, l'histoire de l'art, et mon propre environnement(outils d'ateliers, cahier de croquis et photographies). Cet inventaire d'images recyclées constitue un vocabulaire personnel qui fonctionne comme des ready-mades. Créant des patterns, juxtaposant et surimposant des sens, ces dessins explorent les conventions du regard en questionnant les lectures faisant autorité. De marques faites par répétition mécanique, le processus questionne et explore à la fois les limites de l'intention subjective et de l'expressionnisme. Premièrement intéressés dans la construction narrative à travers les structures et contextes, ces dessins questionnent également les distinctions arbitraires entre le " high " et le " low ", l'illustration et le dessin, la décoration et la pureté. Le travail s'efforce à être excessif et évasif reflétant une nature obsessive et compulsive. Traçant formellement des trajectoires à travers différentes constructions spatiales, je suis intéressé à briser la résolution et à examiner comment les signes changent et comment ils dépendent arbitrairement des différents contextes pour leur définition. Central à ces opérations sont les principes de transformations et métamorphoses.

Carrousel est une frise infinie questionnant l'idée prééminente d'un point de vue singulier. Il oblige le spectateur à bouger et s'engager physiquement grâce à une vision périphérique et à la mémoire. Cette pièce est nécessairement inspirée par de nombreuses formes d'art pictographique des cavernes du paléolithique jusqu'au graffiti urbain tout en étant influencé par la théorie médiatique et l'histoire du cinéma. Les histoires représentées dans cette frise reflètent la réalité sociale qui nous entoure. Stupéfiés, nous observons les atrocités médiatisées de notre temps, un sous-texte se déroulant pendant les nouvelles à la télévision qui ne peut qu'avoir une relation directe sur la psyché humaine. »

(François Morelli)

LISTE DES ARTISTES


ARTS VISUELS

  David Blatherwick

  Cai Guo-Qiang

  Casagrande
     & Rintala


  Colette

  Marcel Dzama

  Graham Gillmore

  Betty Goodwin

  Angela Grauerholz

  Daniel Guzman

  Mathew Hale

  Anton Henning

  Cisco Jiménez

  Koganezawa
     Takehito


  Lux Lindner

  Corinne Marchetti

  Jorge Luis Marrero

  François Morelli

  Claudia & Julia Müller

  Alain Paiement

  Bruno Peinado

  Ed Pien

  Jean-François Prost

  John Scott

  Kiki Smith

  Siphay Southidara

  Barthélémy Toguo

  Torolab (Raúl &
     Marcela Cárdenas)


  Pablo Vargas-Lugo

  Vedovamazzei
  (S. Scala & S. Crispino)


  Jean-Luc Verna

  Fabien Verschaere



INTERVENTION
LUMINEUSE

  Michel Iorio



PERFORMANCE

  Cees Krijnen



 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca