FILMS




Two films were featured at the Biennale de Montréal: Dutch Heroes by Paul Cohen and Martijn van Haalen (Holland) and Body Double X by Brice Dellsperger (France). These films feature artists taking part at the Biennale.

  Dutch Heroes


Cees Krijnen in Dutch Heroes
Dutch Heroes tells the family story of Cees Krijnen, a contemporary artist who achieved fame by turning his parent's painful divorce into a performance entitled Woman in Divorce Battle. Two versions of the same divorce, the mother's and the son's, are glorious and overmediatized, while the father's is steeped in bitterness and anonymity. Which should be taken into account? This is the question asked by Dutch Heroes. Whatever the appearances, truth is not always easy to discern.

  Body Double X


Jean-Luc Verna in Body Double X
"Since 1995, Brice Dellsperger has undertaken a rereading of cinema by adapting over fifteen famous movie sequences under the generic title, Body Double, referring to Brian de Palma's film released in 1984. In Body Double X, a remake of Andrej Zulawski's L'important c'est d'aimer, Jean-Luc Verna gives a wonderful interpretation of the parts of Romy Schneider, Jacques Dutronc, Klaus Kinski and other famous actors. A very tense psychological atmosphere, where each one exploits the other and the spectator can never tell the feelings of the characters, this film is above all a questioning of identity."

Excerpt from the site
http://www.cinema.lu/
(in french)

PRACTICAL INFO

Schedule :
Dutch Heroes
Weeks of October 6 and 20
Every day at 3 PM
54 minutes

Body Double X
Weeks of October 13 and 27
Every day at 3 PM
104 minutes

Place :
La Fonderie Darling -
745 Ottawa Street (corner of Prince)

Price :
Students - 2$
Adults - 4$

Information :
Josée St-Louis at
514/ 288-0811 or
jstlouis@ciac.ca


SHOWCASE



THE ARTISTS

Do you know all the artists invited to the Biennale de Montréal?

 

 



WEB ART

10 web artists at the Biennale de Montréal

 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca

FILMS




Deux films ├ętaient à l'affiche à la Biennale de Montréal : Dutch Heroes de Paul Cohen et Martijn van Haalen (Hollande) et Body Double X de Brice Dellsperger (France). Ces projections mettaient en vedette des artistes présentés à la Biennale.

  Dutch Heroes


Cees Krijnen dans Dutch Heroes
Dutch Heroes évoque le récit familial de Cees Krijnen, un artiste contemporain qui a atteint la célébrité en transformant l'histoire du pénible divorce de ses parents en une performance intitulée Woman in Divorce Battle. Deux versions d'un même divorce, celle de la mère et du fils, glorieuse et sur-médiatisée, alors que celle du père baigne dans l'amertume et l'anonymat. Laquelle doit être prise en compte? Telle est la question que pose Dutch Heroes. Quelle qu'en soit les apparences, la vérité n'est pas toujours facile à discerner.

  Body Double X


Jean-Luc Verna dans Body Double X
« Depuis 1995, Brice Dellsperger a entrepris une relecture du cinéma en adaptant plus d'une quinzaine de séquences de films célèbres sous le titre générique de Body Double faisant littéralement référence au film de Brian de Palma sorti en 1984. Dans Body Double X, un remake de L'important c'est d'aimer, d'Andrej Zulawski, Jean-Luc Verna incarne à merveille les rôles de Romy Schneider, Jacques Dutronc, Klaus Kinski et autres acteurs célèbres. Atmosphère psychologique très tendue, où chacun exploite l'autre, où jamais le spectateur est capable de définir les sentiments des personnages, ce film constitue avant tout une interrogation sur l'identité. »

Extrait du site
http://www.cinema.lu/

INFOS PRATIQUES

Horaire :
Dutch Heroes
Semaines du 6 et du 20 octobre
Tous les jours à 15h
54 minutes

Body Double X
Semaines du 13 et du 27 octobre
Tous les jours à 15h
104 minutes

Lieu :
La Fonderie Darling -
745, rue Ottawa (angle Prince)

Coûts :
Étudiants - 2$
Adultes - 4$

Renseignements :
Josée St-Louis au
514/ 288-0811 ou
jstlouis@ciac.ca


VITRINE



LES ARTISTES

Connaissez-vous les artistes invités de la Biennale de Montréal?

 

 



ART WEB

10 artistes Web à la Biennale de Montréal

 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca