WEB ART


The Web : a space for personal expression


Between these two terms, the logical symbol, not of equality, but of equivalence. Since more than any other media, the Web seems to force a posture on the artist - that is, at once an ethical stand and an aesthetic gesture.

By placing between the artist and his work the action of the machine, the electronic media introduces a distance between gesture and expression. Just as the line of the drawing breaks down into pixels, the body and person of the artist appear disembodied, absent.

Yet, paradoxically, many Web artists have managed to make of this place - or rather non-place - that is Internet a privileged space for personal expression, communication and communion with the spectator/visitor as well as a place for questioning and appropriating the media itself. This is because the Web, contrary to "traditional" art, is above all a "media" in the strong sense of term, that is, a communication channel between worlds, interior and exterior, real and virtual, the world of the surfers as well as the artists.

   Ten webworks for the Biennale


The Web : a playful space
The ten works selected here show the variety of choices and means of expression of the artists who have opted for the Web as their media as well as the material and subject for their work.

In keeping with the theme of the 3rd Biennale de Montréal, "Life is life!... Pleasures, passions, emotions", they nonetheless have in common humour, sometimes irony ... but also elegance and beauty... in various degrees, sometimes in the simplicity of their design or, conversely, by the brilliance of their colours and their forms.

Each one finally strikes by its playful aspect... and, in short, by its ease, a certain mastery, or rather a definite mastery of the media, which also knows how to involve the visitor. Thus interactive and expressive, such works undoubtedly manage to turn the Web into a "hot" media.

Between celebration and dissolution (cf. Michel Tournier1), these works are then divided.

The ten webworks that have been chosen for this exhibition will be presented and commented in a special issue of the CIAC's Electronic Magazine which will be published for the Biennale.

Anne-Marie Boisvert
Web Art Curator

 

1- " [Art] responds to two interdependent functions [...] A critical, subversive, antiestablishment function that finds its best weapon in humour. And a function of praise. Dissolution and celebration. "
(Michel Tournier, Le Vol du vampire, Mercure de France, 1981, p: 255)

SHOWCASE



BETTY GOODWIN

A tribute to this
very famous artist
from Montreal

 

 



TOURS

Visit the old and the new buildings of the Cité Multimédia

 

 


FORUM

Talk art with Dan Cameron, René Block, Claude Gosselin, Mary Doyle, Michel Onfray and Mary-Anne Zagdoun

 

 



THE ARTISTS

Do you know the artists invited to the Biennale de Montréal?

 

 


THEME

A Biennale split between stoicism and hedonism


 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca
| The CIAC | Newsletter | Current Events (Arts and New Technologies) |
| Exhibitions | Publications | Art Bank |
| La Biennale 1998 | La Biennale 2000 | Electronic Magazine |

ART WEB


Le Web : un espace d'expression personnelle


Entre ces termes, le symbole logique, non de l'égalité, mais de l'équivalence. Car plus que d'autres médiums, le Web semble imposer à l'artiste une posture - c'est-à-dire à la fois une prise de position éthique en plus d'un geste esthétique.

Car le médium électronique, en interposant entre l'artiste et son oeuvre le travail de la machine, introduit une distance entre le geste et l'expression. De même que le tracé du dessin s'y décompose en pixels, le corps de l'artiste comme sa personne semble s'y désincarner, s'y absenter.

Et pourtant, paradoxalement, plusieurs artistes du Web ont su faire de ce lieu - de ce non-lieu, plutôt, qu'est l'Internet - un espace privilégié à la fois pour l'expression personnelle, la communication et la communion avec le spectateur/visiteur, en même temps qu'un lieu de questionnement et d'appropriation du médium lui-même.

C'est que le Web, au contraire de l'art "traditionnel", est avant toute chose un "médium" au sens fort du mot, c'est-à-dire un canal de communication entre les mondes, intérieurs et extérieurs, réels et virtuels, ceux des internautes comme ceux des artistes.

   Les oeuvres pour la Biennale


Le Web : un espace ludique
Les dix oeuvres sélectionnées ici témoignent de la variété des choix et des moyens d'expression des artistes qui ont opté pour le Web comme médium en même temps que matière et sujet pour leur travail.

En accord avec le thème de la 3e Biennale de Montréal "La vie, c'est la vie! Plaisirs, passions, émotions" (au pluriel), elles ont néanmoins en commun l'humour, et aussi parfois l'ironie ... mais aussi, l'élégance et la beauté... à divers degrés, parfois dans leur simplicité conceptuelle, ou au contraire grâce à la brillance de leurs couleurs et de leurs formes.

Chacune enfin frappe par son aspect ludique... et en somme par son aisance, par une certaine maîtrise, ou plutôt, une maîtrise certaine, du médium, qui sait aussi accueillir dans son jeu le visiteur. Ainsi, interactives et expressives, de telles oeuvres réussissent à faire du Web, à coup sûr, un médium "chaud".

Entre célébration et dissolution (cf. Michel Tournier1), ces oeuvres donc se partagent.

Les dix oeuvres sélectionnées seront présentées et commentées dans un numéro spécial de notre Magazine électronique qui paraîtra à l'occasion de l'ouverture de la Biennale.

Anne-Marie Boisvert
Commissaire aux
arts électroniques

 

1- "[L'art] répond à deux fonctions solidaires [...] Une fonction critique, subversive, contestataire qui trouve sa meilleure arme dans l'humour. Et une fonction d'éloge. Dissolution et célébration."
(Michel Tournier, Le Vol du vampire, Mercure de France, 1981, p: 255)

VITRINE



BETTY GOODWIN

Un hommage rendu
à la célèbre artiste
montréalaise

 

 



PROMENADES

Visitez les bâtiments anciens et nouveaux de la Cité Multimédia

 

 


FORUM

Parlez d'art avec Dan Cameron, René Block, Claude Gosselin, Mary Doyle, Michel Onfray et Mary-Anne Zagdoun

 

 



LES ARTISTES

Connaissez-vous les artistes invités de la Biennale de Montréal?

 

 


THÈME

Une Biennale partagée entre le stoïcisme et l'hédonisme


 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca
| Le CIAC | Bulletin | Actualités (Arts et Nouvelles Technologies) |
| Expositions | Publications | Fonds d'oeuvres | Concours Jeunes critiques |
| La Biennale 1998 | La Biennale 2000 | Magazine Électronique |