DISCUSSION FORUM


MARY DOYLE
Mary Doyle is currently Collections Curator at the Contemporary Art Society, London, and responsible for managing the Special Collection Scheme, a �3.5m Art Council funded project, working with developing contemporary art collections for fifteen regional museums.

Prior to CAS, she worked with the Arts Council of England National Touring Exhibitions, the British Council and commercial galleries.

She is also co-founder of the Drawing Room, a new project based organisation established in response to the revival of practice and interest in drawing. The Drawing Room has launched three projects during summer 2002, which explores the language and diversity of drawing through a book publication, two touring exhibitions and an artist's residency with a national newspaper. The Drawing Room plans to develop the first public project and exhibition space dedicated to drawing in the UK.

 

  Statement
"Drawing is a universal means of communication and expression from which all ideas begin. It holds a unique position within the arts, maintaining its tradition whilst embracing the experimental. The Drawing Room has been established to reflect its medium, theory and practice within a contemporary context."

 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tel. : (514) 288-0811
Fax : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca

FORUM DE DISCUSSION


MARY DOYLE
Mary Doyle est conservatrice des collections de la Contemporary Art Society (CAS) à Londres, ainsi que gestionnaire responsable du Special Collection Scheme, un projet de 3.5 millions de livres sterling initié par le Arts Council of England. L'objectif de ce projet est de développer des collections d'art contemporain dans 15 musées régionaux.

Avant de s'associer à la CAS, elle a travaillé avec le Arts Council National Touring Exhibitions, ainsi qu'avec le British Council et des galeries commerciales.

Mary Doyle est aussi co-fondatrice du Drawing Room, une nouvelle société agissant par projet mise en place pour répondre au renouvellement de l'intérêt pour le dessin. Le Drawing Room a lancé trois projets durant l'été 2002. Ceux-ci explorent le langage et la diversité du dessin par le biais d'une publication, de deux expositions itinérantes et d'une résidence d'artiste avec un quotidien national. Le Drawing Room prévoit ouvrir le premier centre d'exposition dédié au dessin et à des projets connexes au Royaume-Uni.

 

  Statement
« Le dessin est un moyen de communication et d'expression universel d'où toutes les idées émergent. Il détient une place privilégiée dans les arts, tout à la fois tradition et expérimentation. Le Drawing Room, a été fondé pour soutenir une réflexion sur le dessin en tant que médium, théorie et pratique et ce, dans un contexte contemporain. »

 

 

L A   B I E N N A L E   D E   M O N T R É A L   2 0 0 2
Tél. : (514) 288-0811
Téléc. : (514) 288-5021
courrier@ciac.ca
ciac@ciac.ca